A Storage bed fit for a full.

It was winter break and having little to do, my mother set me on a mission. The goal: to find a full size bed frame with storage for under $300.

Clearly, this was not very do-able otherwise it would not have been delegated down the line. Having some time on my hands I googled various different items and found myself on pinterest.com in the DIY section. After searching through a great deal of pages, over about a week I came across a novel idea. It was called an ikea hack; I had no idea what it was but understood the concept right away. This couple built a storage bed with a cheap ikea bed frame and wooden storage boxes underneath for legs. (http://blog.jasonlang.me/ikea-hack-storage-bed)

This had me interested, but what I really wanted was step by step directions. Instead I had to deal with pictures and come up with my own measurements. Using this idea I decided that I was going to try a variation on the ikea hack storage bed (with less power tools and more ikea items); and well if it didn’t work then we would have a full size bed frame and two more bookcases for the house. And let be honest, who doesn’t need more book cases?

I started very similar to the couple, by going to ikea and finding the $50 Fjellse bed frame. (Bringing along my dad for some help)  While there we saw these Expedit bookshelf units that looked pretty similar to the boxes used in the other couples project. Being only $60 for one it came to a cheaper total price then the $100 the other couple spent per 5 boxes so total $200 for the 10 needed boxes. The only difference being the Expedit shelf was about 3 inches shorter than the bed frame would be so it wouldn’t be completely flush.

Nonetheless we tried it. First we put together the three items from ikea as their instructions described, and my sister and I maneuvered the frame over the bookcases and set it there for now.

Image

Then we decided if we liked it before we got any more involved or made anymore holes into the pieces. We didn’t want to cut off the legs on the actual frame incase the project did not work so having those couple of inches helped out a little bit.

We needed to figure out how to connect all three pieces; since the other couple had to connect their boxes they did it a little differently. We decided to add bridge like structures underneath connecting the shelf’s and the bed, while adding some support. My dad cut nine pieces of wood from planks he had lying around in the basement. We measured from the floor to the top of the inside of the bed frame, as well as from one shelf to the other for the measurements. Then we connected three pieces to each side of the shelf. Following that we took the last three pieces and connected them to the ones on both sides with screws and a screwdriver gun.

Image

After that we added the Sultan Lade ikea planks to the bed that ikea suggests you buy with the bed for extra support.

Then after that it was smooth sailing.

ImageImageImageImageImage

This is defiantly a winning project! It was easy enough and defiantly cost effective and totaled in to $200, without the mattress. If that is just about your price range you could do it for $170, and take out the Sultan Lade ikea planks because it works perfectly without them. There is enough storage with the five cubes and also in between the shelf’s under the bed. A standard sized Rubbermaid container fits underneath.

The frame is extremely sturdy and can hold two full sized adults, without breaking a sweat. My mom was most concerned about this. The only downside to this project I would say is that if this is used for a shorter person or an elderly person they will need a stepstool because it is rather high. In my house this is my “sisters” bed, but while we are away at college my 87 year old grandmother uses it and she needs a stepstool.

Otherwise I think this project is a huge success and I might be trying it sometime soon with a twin bed for me, if all goes well. =D

Until next time,

Emily

1 thought on “A Storage bed fit for a full.

Leave a comment